Kanto-Johto War: Week Five

KantoJohtoWar

The Kanto-Johto War is a team Pokémon battling event where teams of 3 compete to win control of the Kanto and Johto regions. To see the current state of the game, check out the War Games page on IONGameCorner.com. The Interregional Overwatch Network articles will chronicle the progress of the game each week in conjunction with the pieces written by the individual players in the game.

Ghostly War Parade: Haunting Defeat

Spectral

Dammit, Dammit, DAMMIT!!! This wasn’t supposed to go this way. I knew that Alastar would be waiting for us back at Ecruteak City. He seemed annoyed having lost to me and said something along the lines of “Things aren’t finished between us” or something like that. Still, how did both me and Gambit get destroyed by him? He is strong, very strong, I will give him that but it had to be a fluke win. I’m not done with him yet, me and Gambit will be returning to Ecruteak City this week and I hope that Alastar will be there again.

I vented as I paced back and forth in front of Rem and Titania. They both looked on concerned that I had snapped and would think to do something crazy. Titania extended her hand out to touch my should trying to soothe me, and it helped a little but not enough. I looked her in the eyes angry at myself for not allowing her to use her full potential last time. She shook her head trying to tell me it wasn’t my fault but deep down I knew it was.

I turned away to look at the map of the region behind my desk that I had set up in Olivine to track the movements of the other War Factions. The only shred of good news I had gotten this week was confirmation that Cebarra was successful in acquiring Genesect, though he had been met with a member of one of the other factions also looking to acquire the Genesect. I was failing the people of Johto in my promise to save them from the ravages of war, instead I was only making it worse.

I turned back to Titania and Rem, and called them back into their Poké Balls, letting them know I would call on them all later that day to figure out the best way to take down Alastar. There was no option now, we had to defeat Alastar. The damn gambler lost the Lightning Orb in a bet that he would be victorious. I needed to grab the orb back before we could continue with my plans to defend Johto. There are rumors of Thundurus being seen flying around the skies of Ecruteak City, heading towards Routes 35-37. Maybe we will be able to acquire that beast and gains its assistance in restoring the peace.

I sent a letter by way of Horus to Cebarra to return to Olivine now that it had Genesect in its possession and await further orders. It seems my hold on Cebarra is still strong. Let’s hope I don’t need to loosen my grip on its leash any time soon.

The Wanderers: Counterpunch

Alastar

I’m not going to lie, I’m feeling pretty good about myself. Fresh off of giving a shellacking to that ghost fella and his gambling buddy, I think I had good reason to. And, as if just sending those fellas packing wasn’t enough, in the aftermath, I found this glowing yellow orb. Turns out it’s the Lightning Orb, which is supposed to be able to unlock the legendary Zapdos. I may have to talk Alec into letting me venture into Kanto. In the name of the of The Wanderers, of course.

For now though, I stayed put here in Ecruteak City. Something told me that Spectral was going to want to try and have the rubber match in our little skirmish here. They also still probably wanted to try and get to the Magnet Train. And, of course, there’s the matter of this here Lightning Orb. I was willing to bet that they’d be back looking for that too. So, Alec asked me to hang around Ecruteak and welcome the Parade if they come back. I was counting on that, as it’s a bit on the boring side around here when I’m not stomping fellas.

Lucky for me, my ghostly friends did not disappoint. Once again, Spectral and Gambit came together. Not that I blamed them. I mean, I did embarrass them both last week. Actually, I was surprised that they didn’t bring more help with them. As expected, Spectral wanted me to stand aside and give them back the Lightning Orb. I don’t think he seriously thought I was going to oblige with either of those demands.

I sent out Volt, my Jolteon, and Spectral stepped up to answer the bell. I’ll give him this much, he leads his forces head on and doesn’t just sit in the back line barking orders. I had to do some finagling to deal with Titania, his Mega Gardevoir, but I’m not too shabby at finagling, if I do say so myself. In the end, Volt was there to finish Spectral off and it was one down, one to go.

Much like my battle with Spectral, I had do some bobbing and weaving to swing the battle in my favor, but it felt like I was one step ahead of him for much of the battle. There was a moment of trepidation for me when Big Slick, his Mega Garchomp, hung on against Volt and was primed to do some real damage, but I was able to weaken it enough for Mega Blaziken to come in and wreck shop. Once again, I had bested the best that the Ghostly War Parade had to offer.

I folded my arms and just chuckled as Spectral and Gambit once again had to retreat from Ecruteak City. I could tell that Spectral was getting pretty ticked off that I had smacked them around twice now. Perhaps next time he’ll think again before running head first into a brick wall more than once. I’d admire the fella for his persistence, but honestly, there’s a thin line between persistence and foolishness. Time will tell which side of that line Spectral likes to stand on.

Interregional Overwatch Network

Wanderers Stand Tall As Johto Starts to Rally Behind Them

by Scoops McGee, ION Special Reporter

Ecruteak City – For the first time in weeks, morale around Johto has started to swing thanks to an unlikely source, Alec of the Wanderers. The new leader of the vagabond group is starting to look like a beacon of hope for those living in fear of Ferra and Team Requiem. The group’s goal of creating acceptance for all trainers seems altruistic enough, and recent clashes with Team Requiem have even those doubting them viewing them as the lesser of two evils.

Alec took the fight to Team Requiem this week on multiple fronts. Deciding to be proactive this week, he left from Mahogany Town to meet Requiem’s Barracuda Jones head on.

Alec (Wanderers) vs. Barracuda Jones (Team Requiem), video courtesy of Johto Broadcasting Company News

The young leader of the Wanderers’ victory drove Team Requiem out of Blackthorn City. But the good news didn’t end there. The former Weather Master Sandverse, in his quest for apparent redemption, marched on Violet City and met Requiem’s Icy McHaggis in battle.

Sandverse (Wanderers) vs. Icy McHaggis (Team Requiem), video courtesy of Johto Broadcasting Company News

Sandverse was able to evict Requiem from another area of occupation, freeing Violet from Ferra’s control. The Wanderers were not completely on the offensive however, as Alastar once again locked horns with the Ghostly War Parade, who were once again attempting to gain access here in Ecruteak City.

Alastar (Wanderers) vs. Spectral (Ghostly War Parade), video courtesy of Johto Broadcasting Company News

Alastar (Wanderers) vs. Gambit (Ghostly War Parade)

With Alastar once again able to dispatch of both Spectral and Gambit, faith in the GWP may be at an all time low. Reconvening in Olivine City, Spectral will be forced to regroup and reassess his team’s situation. It should be noted, however, that Cebarra is rumored to be in possession of Genesect, so that may be able to shift some balance of power to Spectral’s faction.

While the news was mostly negative for Ferra, Team Requiem was able to gain control of Cherrygrove City. It appears that Ferra may be try to extend his reach toward Kanto. The loss of Blackthorn and Violet, however, may shift his focus.

Meanwhile, in Kanto, it was another quiet week. HOPE spent more time not going to Johto. PlatinumHowler was spotted around Navel Rock, supposedly looking for the wings that are believed to be connected with the legendary bird Pokémon of Johto, Lugia and Ho-oh. Perhaps this at least shows that Zero may be considering a move to Johto soon. Custos visited the famous researcher Bill. It’s unclear the purpose of the visit. Perhaps it has something to do with the Pokémon Storage System or Bill’s recent research into Eevee and its evolutions.

The Fallarbor Academy Research team was also relatively docile, choosing to continue their research in Kanto. Professor Trevor Eucalyptus and Fryday did switch locations, presumably to allow the other to investigate and corroborate each other’s findings.

Things are starting to look up in Johto, but it safe to assume that Ferra and Team Requiem won’t take these recent setbacks laying down. This war is far from over.

Map after Week Five

mapW5

Leave a Reply

