Training Camp: You’re Doing It Wrong

I’m going to borrow a joke I made on Facebook earlier that I thought of on my way to work after being delayed by a flat tire. That was not what I meant when I said that I wanted to get rid of my spare tire. Feel free to laugh now.

Anyway, so I am now 2 weeks into the EA Sports Active NFL Training Camp experiment. As you will recall, I started off at 249 pounds. So, I stepped on the scale this morning to find that I am now… 253 pounds. Yes, I managed to start a workout routine and gain 4 pounds. Fabulous job by me. So, how did this happen?

Well, the logical reason would be that I haven’t changed my eating habits all that much. I would like to say that I was testing a theory to see how much the workouts themselves would help, but that would be less than genuine. So, it’s time to get back on the wagon, so to speak, as far as the diet portion of the program goes. The sad part is that I did fairly well the first time around with it, so it should be easier for me than it has been to buckle down and do it again. I had a joke that the reason why I was adhering to it so closely before was because I had been spending so much time reading Green Lantern comics at the time that I had willpower drilled into my brain. Regardless, I need to get back to living up the name sake of the website and channel my inner Ion.

I should mention my thoughts on the software thus far. I’m a bit surprised, and disappointed, that there is no weight goal tracking mechanism in the game. I was expecting it to ask me to weigh myself periodically and it would update my profile accordingly. It’s basically on you to do that. Perhaps that was part of the online functionality of the game, but since the servers have gone down for that, that does me no good.

Another issue, that was mentioned in several reviews I read before purchasing, was that sometimes, there was an issue with the game recognizing the motions you are doing. I haven’t had too much of a problem with this, however, there have been a few times where it has caused a bit of frustration. It’s bad enough when you are doing pushups and it doesn’t recognize you as having done one, let alone having your “coach” in the game get on your case as if you were just sitting there doing nothing. Overall though, the detection has been acceptable.

One other minor issue has been the resistance band. It came with a pair of handles that you basically tie the band into. There have been a few times where they have come undone (Clearly, I was not a Boy Scout), which can be a nuisance in the middle of a drill. You have to stop to re-tie them and probably get yelled at by the coach. Thankfully, there have been no incidents that would have granted me a spot of Ridiculousness had I been recorded.

At this point, although I need to step up my game to see some better results, I’m still glad I bought it. I’ve followed the workout schedule and am getting some exercise in, which is a step in the general direction of progress. It’s up to me to get the rest of the plan in place.

Leave a Reply

