Training Camp: Reporting for Camp

I don’t usually talk about too many personal things on here. Quite frankly, I figure that’s not what people are interested in. I’m going to deviate from that a bit to track, and help motivate me on something that has been in need for me for a while now: Getting into shape.

Ever since I was about 10 years old, I have been what would probably be classified as overweight. It’s something that I have struggled with for years, but never seriously attempted to fix. Last spring, it was getting to the point that I couldn’t fit into my jeans anymore. I wasn’t going to go out and buy all new clothes. It was time to fix the problem. I’m right at 6 feet tall. From what I understand, someone of my height with my build should be around 200 pounds. When I stepped on the scale, I was at 270 pounds.

My girlfriend, Jamie, and I had both decided that we wanted to lose some weight and couple of friends of ours had showed us a diet that was working well for them called the 17 Day Diet. For the entire summer and into the fall, we stuck with this diet and I had dropped around 40 pounds. I was feeling much better, not only physically, but about myself in general. Then, as the fall rolled along, I found myself “cheating” more and more on what I was eating. The holidays came around and I justified it in my mind by saying it was the holidays and I’d get back on it once they were over.

Well, I didn’t. I knew I was gaining some of the weight I lost back, but didn’t seriously work on getting back on the diet properly. Jamie had gotten off of it around the same time too, but resolved to get back on it and did. She’s doing really great with it, feeling so much better, and you can notice how well she’s doing with it. Not that she hasn’t always looked great or anything, but she’s doing a great job with it, she’s setting her goals and doing a great job in keeping to it and working towards those goals. Me, on the other hand, I half-heartedly got back on it when she did, and realistically, I’m not really on it at all. I’m starting to feel like I did before getting on the diet in the first place and know it’s time to get serious again.

My problem has always been two two-fold, I like food… primarily food that isn’t good for me. And I’m fairly inactive. The latter part is weird for someone who enjoys playing sports as much as I do, but pick-up games have been fewer and further between the last few months, so I needed to really get to work on that. I think part of me felt like I had maybe hit a plateau with the diet before and really needed the extra aspect of exercise to get the ball rolling again. I’ve never been much of a fan of exercising just for the sake of exercising. I refuse to go the a gym and if I’m not playing a sport, I typically can’t be bothered to work out.

Last weekend, we were in a GameStop and I happened to notice the EA Sports Active NFL Training Camp for the Wii. I remembered reading about it when it first came out and thought it was a cool idea, but I didn’t have a Wii at the time, and it was also listed at $100. I thought about grabbed it while we were in GameStop because it was, I believe about $20, and I now have a Wii thanks to Jamie and Ashleigh. I decided against it at the time and figured to do some more digging first. I checked out Amazon and found it for $11 there and read through the reviews. The reviews seemed hit or miss, but for $11, it was worth taking a shot on. I figured that with it being video game related and NFL related, I’d be more apt to stick to it.

So, I fired it up yesterday to try it out for the first time. It comes with a heart rate monitor, a leg motion tracker, a USB dongle (That has to be one of the silliest words ever.) to connect online (although the EA online service for the game has been discontinued), and a resistance band (which Ashleigh thought was a headband). When you start the game, it has you create a profile and you put in your name, height, weight, and you can customize your appearance. For the record, I weighed myself before entering it in and I’m at 249 pounds. You also select your favorite NFL team and you favorite trainer, basically one of five players on the team. The funny part of that was that since the game was released in 2010, 3 of the choices for the New England Patriots, Randy Moss, Laurence Maroney, and Brandon Meriweather, are no longer on the team. The other two were Tom Brady and Jerod Mayo for those who are curious. You also select a jersey number. As you play, you get points for various things you do. You can spend these points in the game’s shop to buy jerseys for yourself. They have several different ones available, including throwbacks, for each team. They get customized with your name and number when you get them.

Once that was completed, it was time to get the program started. One of the options available to you is called the NFL Combine 60-Day Challenge. In essence, it sets up a workout regiment over a 60-day span for you. It measures your progress by giving you a projected draft spot as if you were a rookie preparing for the NFL Draft. You do a 4 out of 7 day routine and you can choose which days you want to do your workouts on. The default was Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday and I left it as is. You can also choose to Easy, Medium, or Hard and I assume it adjusts the workout accordingly. I chose Easy, and after 2 days, I’m glad I did because, quite frankly, I’m a little embarrassed by some of my performance thus far in a few areas, such as pushups. For each day that you have a session, you do 20 drills, or exercises. The first few and last few are warmup and cool-down stretches. The rest alternate between various exercises, some using the resistance band. You have your NFL player-trainer on screen to show you what to do and a training coach audibly telling you what to do and keeping you motivated. If you aren’t doing something right (or the game doesn’t detect that you are) the coach will let you know, which can be annoying when it’s just the game not detecting you properly, or stopping to re-tie the resistance band to the straps, but overall, it’s not bad.

So far, I like the game. Like I said, I’m not thrilled with how I’ve performed at certain things, but I suppose that will get better as I go. The main thing is that is has me exercising, so regardless of how it goes, that’s already a win for the game. I’m going to be posting periodically about my progress with this. The goal is to get down to 200 pounds. Hopefully, I can stay on track and get there this time. That’s another reason I’m posting about this here, as another means of motivation to see it through. I may try and note some of the numbers involved, like calories burned and heart rate stuff that the game tracks, but I don’t want to get too technical and boring. For now, I’m just trying to earn my first Patriots jersey.

-Al Basler, ION Game Corner

3 thoughts on “Training Camp: Reporting for Camp

  1. jamie52111

    I thought it was 39.99 at Game Stop? And Ash was wearing the resistance band around as a headband again this morning. Then I showed her how to really use it, she said it was really hard and got a huge kick out of it lol.

    I love you and there’s nothing you need to change about your appearance but I totally get the need to just feel better.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Training Camp: You’re Doing It Wrong | ION Game Corner Blog

Leave a Reply

