ION Update II

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything here. Part of that is site related and part of it is due to this being one of our busiest times of year at work.

The site-related part of that is primarily the ION Pokémon League. I’ve been doing a good deal of work over the last couple of weeks to get it ready for its start this Saturday. The league consists of 14 players who will compete weekly for the next 8 weeks to attempt to qualify for the playoffs. Eight players (the top 4 in each conference) will advance to a single-elimination playoff to crown the first ever ION Pokémon League Champion. One of the goals of the league was to create something different than your run-of-the-mill Pokémon tournament, and I think I’ve accomplished that. Very much looking forward to kicking this off this weekend.

The Baz Invitational Madden NFL 13 League is in full swing in its second season. Nick Oliveira’s Tennessee Titans have still yet to suffer a defeat. And he is taking every opportunity to let the rest of us know that. The season is cruising right along and it looks like we’ll be in the playoffs shortly after into the new year. We have 6 user teams right now, and we opened up the NFC for this season, so there is plenty of room for new players. If you’re interested in joining, check out the link above, get on the forum, and get in the game.

There are still some details to be worked out, but it looks like we may be a go for the ION Yu-Gi-Oh! League. The general consensus is that it will take place on Saturdays in the mid-afternoon (around 3ish). We’re looking to kick things off around the end of January, most likely 2 weeks after the Cosmo Blazer Sneak Preview. I’m going to try and hammer out the details with the folks at P&T Sports Cards in Whitman, who have offered their play space for this, sometime in the next week or so. I will be looking for people who I can trust to help out with this. I would like to find someone I can trust to run a league day in the event that I can’t make a particular week. I’d also want someone who I can trust to be a impartial judge as well. Being a judge will not exclude anyone from playing. I will handle most of the judging, but I want at least one other person to rule on issues in my matches, and if I’m not there. If you’re interested in either of those, get on the forum and let me know.

This Sunday, I’ll be recording a new episode of the ION GameCast. I will definitely by joined by Nick again. We’ll talk a little about the ION Pokémon League. I know Nick has a few games that he wants to talk about as well. Be on the lookout for that sometime Sunday.

Last but not least, we’re in the midst of December, so I would like to take the time to wish everyone a wonderful holiday season. I want to thank everyone who has helped support the ION Game Corner, especially Nick, Chris Cepero, Steve Fuller, Jim Pine, Dan Jacobvitz, and Lance Vance, who have helped out on podcasts, blogs, and with the site in general.

Above and beyond that, I want to thank two very special people. The first is my girlfriend, Jamie Farwell. She has been ridiculously supportive of the ION project even though it sometimes takes up a little too much of my attention. She always listens to my silly ideas and reads everything I post and listens to all of my podcast, despite not being a gamer. She is my biggest supporter, my best friend, and I couldn’t ask for anything more. Thank you Jamie, I love you.

The second person is her daughter, Ashleigh. She never ceases to amaze me with the intelligent and witty things that come out of her mouth. Her imagination is second to none and that is something I am supremely jealous of. And above all else, she always manages to make me feel special, despite my not being her actual father. Without both of them, ION wouldn’t be quite what it is. So, thank you to both of them. And happy holidays to all of you.

Al Basler, ION Game Corner

Leave a Reply

