Obligatory Introductions

The idea going into this is going to be a general, hopefully brief, introduction of who I am and what you should expect at the ION Game Corner. And hopefully give you a reason to stay a while.

My name is Al Basler and, obviously, I am a gamer. I consider my tastes in games to be somewhat eclectic. One thing you probably will never hear me tell is how awful some game you like is. I’ll tell you that it’s not for me, but if you like it, great! To give you an idea of what I play, consider the following list of games I play semi-regularly: most sports games (most notably the Madden football series), the Pokemon video games, the Yu-Gi-Oh! trading card game, City of Heroes (at least for a couple more months, more on that to come another time), any good board game to play in a group, and softball.

You’ll notice I included softball in that list. In my mind, sports are simply another form of game. At their core, sports are really no different than what you think of first when someone mentions game. That should give you some idea of the scope of the ION Game Corner. When I refer to games, it could be video games, tabletop games, sports, whatever game strikes my fancy at that moment in time. I will do my best to keep the content somewhat streamlined on the site so that, for instance, if you can’t stand sports, you can avoid it for the most part here.

I will be producing content for ION in the form of blogs and podcasts. These will be mostly about the games that I’m into. So, if you’re into some of the same stuff, hopefully, you’ll like the content. The frequency of posts will be dependent on material and having the time to produce them.

Aside from my personal life, and my actual paid work, I also work for New England Championship Wrestling, a local independent wrestling company here in Massachusetts. In addition to helping out at events and working as the company’s backstage reporter, I also produce NECW’s podcast, Sonic Boom. If you’d like to check out the company or my podcast, you can at necwwrestling.com.

There will be opportunities for others to contribute content for ION. If it’s something you might be interested in, either a blog or podcast, let me know. I won’t allow just anyone to contribute, but once I get to know you, there’s a good chance you will be allowed on board.

Another way to interact at ION will be through the discussion forum. Initially, there will be individual forums for games that I plan on discussing frequently, but the community will also dictate other forum creation. If you think a game deserves its own forum, bring it to my attention, and if there’s enough interest, it will happen.

One of the main goals of the forum is to facilitate organized play. Being a lifelong sports fan, I will be looking to create some organized leagues and tournaments for various games. Keep in mind that although any local organized play I put together will be centered on the South Shore, Massachusetts area, there will be online organized play as well. Everyone is welcome at ION, no matter where you call home.

So, hopefully, that will give you a little insight into what my aim for the ION Game Corner is. In essence, a place for gamers to come and hang, find some new gamers, and hopefully make some new friends in the process. Welcome to the ION Game Corner.

Leave a Reply

